AIA Selects Recipients for 2023 Architecture Awards

WASHINGTON, DC, Mar 6, 2023 – The American Institute of Architects (AIA) is recognizing 16 projects with its 2023 Architecture Awards.

The 2023 Architecture Award program celebrates the best contemporary architecture and highlights the many ways buildings and spaces can improve lives. The seven-person jury selects submissions that demonstrate design achievement, including a sense of place, purpose, history, and environmental sustainability. This year’s recipients are:

633 Folsom, San Francisco | Gensler

Center of Developing Entrepreneurs, Charlottesville, Virginia | Wolf Ackerman, EskewDumezRipple

GoSpotCheck Headquarters, Denver | Tryba Architects

John W. Olver Design Building, University of Massachusetts Amherst, Amherst, Massachusetts | Leers Weinzapfel Associates

Lubber Run Community Center, Arlington, Virginia | VMDO Architects

Marlboro Music Reich Hall, Marlboro, Vermont | HGA

Marygrove Early Education Center, Detroit | Marlon Blackwell Architects

Minneapolis Public Service Building, Minneapolis | Henning Larsen, MSR Design

Mukilteo Multimodal Ferry Terminal, Mukilteo, Washington | LMN Architects

The Rajkumari Ratnavati Girl’s School, Rajasthan, India | Diana Kellogg Architects

The Rockefeller University Stavros Niarchos Foundation – David Rockefeller River Campus, New York | Rafael Viñoly Architects

Seattle Academy of Arts and Sciences Middle School, Seattle | LMN Architects

TIDE Academy, Menlo Park, California | LPA Design Studios

UCLA Pritzker Hall Modernization, Los Angeles | CO Architects

University of Washington, Life Sciences Building, Seattle | Perkins&Will

Worcester Blackstone Visitor Center, Worcester, Massachusetts | designLABarchitects

This year’s Architecture Award recipients were selected by a seven-person jury: Ashley Wilson, FAIA, Chair, Ashley Wilson Architect; Jose Leo Arango, Assoc. AIA, EYP; Randall Deutsch, FAIA, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign School of Architecture; Gabriel Ignacio Dziekiewicz, AIA, DesignBridge; Teresa Jan, AIA, Multistudio; Luis Nieves-Ruiz, FAICP, East Central Florida, Regional Planning Council and Zakiya Wiggins, AIA, LS3P.

The AIA’s Framework for Design Excellence provides a set of guidelines and requirements to assess project performance. Climate action requires a holistic approach addressing the interdependence among people, buildings, infrastructure, and the environment. While awarded projects do not need to address all the measures included in the framework, they do need to highlight how they perform in this context and highlight relevant narratives and metrics when applicable.

Visit AIA’s website for more information on the Architecture program.

About AIA

Founded in 1857, AIA consistently works to create more valuable, healthy, secure, and sustainable buildings, neighborhoods, and communities. Through more than 200 international, state and local chapters, AIA advocates for public policies that promote economic vitality and public wellbeing.

AIA provides members with tools and resources to assist them in their careers and business as well as engaging civic and government leaders and the public to find solutions to pressing issues facing their communities, institutions, nation, and world. Members adhere to a code of ethics and conduct to ensure the highest professional standards.

For more information, visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *